

Polity Miscellaneous Questions for CGL Tier 1, SSC 10+2 and CLAT

Polity Miscellaneous Quiz 1

Choose the right answer from the given options.

1. The state operates through

A. Political Party B. Party President C. Government D. President

2. Which of the following article of IPC is related to un-natural sex?

A. 370 B. 374 C. 376 D. 377

3. Which one of the following land reform measures can be said to have been fully implemented by now in India?

A. Tenancy reforms B. Abolition of intermediaries C. Land ceilings

D. Consolidation of holdings

4. Schedule VII of Indian Constitution contains

A. Presidential election B. Acts beyond jucidial review

C. States and Union territories D. Division of Power into 3 lists

5. The declaration that Democracy is a Government 'of the people, by the people; for the people' was made by

A. George Washington B. Winston Churchill C. Abraham Lincoln

D. Theodore Roosevelt

6. Who was the President of India at the time of proclamation of emergency in the year 1976?

A. VV Giri B. Giani Zail Singh C. Fakhr-ud-din Ali Ahmed

D. Shankar Dayal Sharma

7. Who among the following was the Finance Minister of India in the Interim Government during 1946-1947?

A. R K Shanmukham Chetty B. John Mathai C. Liaquat Ali Khan

D. Chintamanrao Deshmukh

8. Department of Official Language (Raj Bhasha Vibhag) comes under which one of the following Ministries?

B. Ministry of Home Affairs A. Ministry of Culture

C. Ministry of Human Resource Development

)uestion Bank D. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

9. Consider the following statement

1. The Ministries Departments of the Union Government are created by the Prime Minister.

2. The Cabinet Secretary is the Ex-officio Chairman of the Civil Services Board.

Which of the statement give above is/are correct?

A. Only 1 B. Only 2 C. Both 1 and 2 D. Neither 1 nor 2 10. Which one of the following is the correct chronological order of the tenures of the following Presidents of Indian National Congress?

(1) Jagjivan Ram (2) K Kamaraj (3) P D Tandon (4) U N Dhebar

Codes:

A. 1, 2, 4, 3 B. 2, 3, 4, 1 C. 3, 4, 2, 1 D. 3, 4, 1, 2



Correct Answers:

1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10
C	D	В	D	С	С	С	В	С	С

Explanations:

1.

A government is the system by which a state or community is governed. It is the means by which state policy is enforced, as well as the mechanism for determining the policy of the state. A form of Government refers to the set of political systems and institutions that make up the organization of a specific government. Hence, the option C is correct.

2.

Section 377 of Indian Penal Code (1860) deals with 'un-natural sex.' As per this section, oral and anal sex have been treated as unnatural sex and made illegal in India. Hence, the option is correct.

3.

Abolition of intermediaries is generally agreed to be one component of land reforms that has been relatively successful. The record in terms of the other components is mixed and varies across states and over time.

Hence, the option B is correct.

4.

Seventh Schedule (Article 246) provides for the division of powers between the Union of India and the states. Its deals with the union (central government), state, and concurrent lists of responsibilities. The lists have been called Union List, State List and Concurrent List.

Hence, the option D is correct.

5.

152 years ago on 19th November 1863, at the Soldiers' National Cemetery in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, President of America Abraham Lincoln, weak and lightheaded with an oncoming case of smallpox, made a speech that lasted for just over two minutes, and ended with his hope "that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom and that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth".

Hence, the option C is correct.

6.

Fakhr-ud-din Ali Ahmad was the President of India from 24th August 1974 to 11th February 1977.

Hence, the option C is correct.

7.

About Liaguat Ali Khan:

Liaquat Ali Khan was one of the leading Founding Fathers of modern Pakistan, statesman, lawyer, and political theorist who became the first Prime Minister of Pakistan. He was the first Defence Minister of Pakistan, the first Finance Minister of India, and the minister of Commonwealth and Kashmir Affairs from 1947 until his assassination in 1951.

Smartkeeda



Hence, the option C is correct.

8.

Ministry of Home Affairs Ministry of Home Affairs consists of six departments. They are

- 1. Department of Border Management
- 2. Department of Internal Security
- 3. Department of States
- 4. Department of Official Languages
- 5. Department of Home
- 6. Department of Jammu and Kashmir Affairs.

Hence, the option B is correcrt.

9.

Both statements are individually true. Hence, the option C is correct.

10.

(3, 4, 2, 1)
P D Tandon - 1950
U N Dhebar - 1955
K Kamaraj - 1964
Jagjivan Ram - 1970
Hence, the option C is correct.

Smartkeeda The Question Bank

