Join Testzone, Smartkeeda’s Test Series Platform for:

Direction : Study the following question carefully and choose the right answer.
Important for :
Which of the following statements about Nathula Pass are correct?

1. It links Sikkim with Tibet.
2. It was the main artery of the ancient Silk Route.
3. It was reopened in the year 2006.

Select the correct answer using the codes given below
» Explain it
Nathu La is a mountain pass in the Himalayas. It connects the Indian state of Sikkim with China's Tibet Autonomous Region. The pass, at 4,310 m (14,140 ft) above mean sea level, forms a part of an offshoot of the ancient Silk Road. Nathu means "listening ears" and La means "pass" in Tibetan. On the Indian side, the pass is 54 km (34 mi) east of Gangtok, the capital of Indian state of Sikkim. Only citizens of India can visit the pass, and then only after obtaining a permit in Gangtok.

Nathu La is one of the two open trading border posts between China and India; the others being Shipkila in Himachal Pradesh and Lipulekh (or Lipulech) in Nepal. Sealed by India after the 1962 Sino-Indian War, Nathu La was re-opened in 2006 following numerous bilateral trade agreements.
» Explain it
The correct sequence of the rivers from North to South is Damodar- Mahanadi- Brahmani- Tungabhadra.
1. The Damodar River is a river flowing across the Indian states of West Bengal and Jharkhand.
2. The Mahanadi flows through the states of Chhattisgarh and Odisha.
3. The Brahmani is a major seasonal river in the Odisha state of Eastern India.
4. The Tungabhadra River is a river in southern India that flows along the border between Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh.
Which one among the following states does not form part of the Narmada basin?
» Explain it
The Narmada River, rises in the Amarkantak plateau of Maikala range in the Shahdol District of Madhya Pradesh at an elevation of 1057 m above mean sea level at a latitude 22040’ N and a longitude of 810 45’E. Rajasthan is the state of India which does not form part of the Narmada Basin.
Consider the following sanctuaries of India
1. Periyar                              
2. Dachigam                        
3. Sariska                              
4. Kanha

Which one among the following is the correct sequence of location of the above sanctuaries from South to North?
» Explain it
Periyar National Park:- Kerala

Kanha National Park:- Madhya Pradesh

Sariska National Park:- Rajasthan

Dachigam National Park:- Jammu and Kashmir
» Explain it
The Himalayas, or Himalaya, is a mountain range in South Asia which separates the Indo-Gangetic Plain from the Tibetan Plateau. This range is home to nine of the ten highest peaks on Earth, including the highest, Mount Everest.

The Himalayan region is poor in mineral resources because the displacement of rock strata has disturbed the arrangement of rocks and made it complex